Type to search

Girls Bowling: 2023-24 Season Preview

Girls Bowling: 2023-24 Season Preview


By Susan Jenior

Staff Writer


It’s time for the high school bowling season and athletes take over area lanes in the afternoon following school and at tournaments scheduled on the weekends.

Portage County has a rich history of bowlers advancing far into the postseason and this year will be no different as many teams return athletes who advanced to the state tournament in the 2022-23 season.

With Portage County bowling teams competing in five different conferences, this season will offer solid competition and fun matches to watch.




Coach: Adam Horner.

Home Bowling Lanes: Sky Lanes, Garrettsville.

Conference: Chagrin Valley Conference.

Last Year: 9-7 overall.

Returning Letterwinners: Hailey Desatnik.

Letterwinners Graduated: Emily Linamen, Aubree Rouse, Emily Ballentine.

Bowlers to Watch: Mitzi Houchen, Cayden Thiel, Mackenzie Thompson are all new to the team this season.

Season Outlook: Coach Horner offered that the team is very young this season and he is looking for the team to improve.

11th Frame: Annette Thompson is assisting Horner.




Coach: Amanda Kusar.

Home Bowling Lanes: Kent Lanes, Kent.

Conference: Metro Athletic Conference.

Last Year: This is the first year for bowling at Field.

Bowlers to Watch: Makayla Doak, Kylie Finley, Melinda Walker, Savannah Fanger, Theo Amonett, Sterling Markel, McCayla Meffert, Allison Hinkle.

Season Outlook: Kusar is looking forward to seeing how the team progresses.




Coach: Jesse Michel, Howard Fincham.

Home Bowling Lanes: Kent Lanes, Kent.

Conference: Suburban League, American Division.

Last Year: 5-6 Suburban.

Returning Letterwinners: Ryleigh Balan, sr., Jillian Eden, sr., Hannah Robinson, sr., Maisy Montgomery, jr., Emma Arthur, sr., Grace Edmond, jr., Kierra Naseer, jr., Camryn Latshaw, sr. The team is experienced with Balan, a three-year letterwinner, and Eden, Robinson and Montgomery all earning two letters. Eden was the 2023 team MVP and qualified to districts as an individual.

Montgomery earned the Rough Rider award in 2023 and Arthur was the most improved and qualified to districts as well.

Edmond, Naseer and Latshaw each have one letter.

Bowlers to Watch: “We have two new foreign-exchange students that will be joining our team this year,” offered Michel. “Maria Zanoni is a senior from Brazil, and Amelie Semmier is a junior from Germany.”

Season Outlook: “Unlike our boys team, the girls have a group with a lot more experience,” said Michel. “I am expecting big things from them even though we are in one of the toughest conferences in the state. This group of ladies have been putting in tons of work and they have been getting off-season lessons and are working hard to improve their skills.”

11th Frame: “This team is doing an amazing job in the classroom as the team GPA for the first nine weeks was 4.14. We are very proud and excited for this upcoming season,” said Michel.




Coach: Mike Smith.

Home Bowling Lanes: Spins Bowl, Kent.

Conference: Metro Athletic Conference.

Returning Letterwinners: Alannah Raffa, soph.

Letterwinners Graduated: Samantha Roman, Ashlyn Williams, Zoe Bevelacqua.

Bowlers to Watch: Alanna Raffa, the only returning letterwinner on the team, is an athlete to watch this season offered Smith.

Season Outlook: “We are in a rebuild but expect to be competitive,” said Smith.




Coach: Andy Day.

Home Bowling Lanes: Spins Bowl, Kent.

Conference: Portage Trail Conference.

Last Year: 12-4 overall, 6-0 PTC.

Returning Letterwinners: Rootstown returns seven letterwinners, including Payton Curall, a senior who is a two-time PTC Bowler of the Year and advanced to state last season. Others include Maggie Frick, sr., Natalie Hammerschmidt, sr., Elli Campbell, sr., Mallory Butcher, sr., Emma Day, jr. and Cassie Egli, jr.

Letterwinners Graduated: Tracey Lohman.

Bowlers to Watch: Gracie Frick (senior) and Kaitlyn Hammerschmidt (sophomore) are newcomers to the team this season.

Season Outlook: Coach Day’s goals for the season are for the team to win the PTC for the third year in a row and qualify for the state tournament. Frick, Day, Egli and Hammerschmidt all earned First Team All-PTC honors for two years straight.

11th Frame: “Payton Curall has been working hard in the off-season and plans to continue her bowling career at Judson University (Elgin, Ill.),” said Day.




Coach: Mike Hammond.

Home Bowling Lanes: Spins Bowl, Kent.

Conference: Portage Trail Conference.

Last Year: 3-3 PTC, 7-3 overall.

Returning Letterwinners: Southeast returns six letterwinners, including Abby Smith, First Team All-PTC and Southeast MVP as well as Rebekah Wood, earning the Pirate award.

Letterwinners Graduated: Cassidy Timms, who earned All-PTC Honorable-Mention honors and Olivia Denzinger.

Season Outlook: “I am looking forward to having a veteran team that will be very competitive in our league,” said Hammond.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *