Type to search

Roosevelt ice hockey celebrates teachers with special recognition game

Roosevelt ice hockey celebrates teachers with special recognition game


By Tom Nader

Publisher and Editor


The Kent Roosevelt ice hockey team roster included an additional 16 members last Thursday.

Each special guest was in uniform, but none found their way on the ice.

Instead, the group were special guests to the Rough Riders players as part of Teacher Appreciation Night.

Each Roosevelt ice hockey player selected one teacher that has made a positive influence in their lives.

The group that attended included Seth Childers, Kevin Hockett, Jeff Thompson, Jay Wilson, Leah Wilson, Amy Larkin, Chris Knopick, John Phillips, Zach Adair, Kasey Adelman, Angela Textor, Carol Bender, Jake Ferlito, Brent Pfeiffer, Robin Golden and Kaylie Murray.

The special night was made a priority by head coach Brad Edwards, who is a seventh-grade science teacher in Mentor.

“The season I feel this is important is so that the teachers realize that they are making an impact on students’ lives whether they realize it or not,” Edwards said. “Educators don’t look for recognition, ever. They just want to make sure they are helping their students to succeed, and I feel that sometimes it is a nice reminder to be recognized.

“Also, it is important for our players to realize that we should respect our teachers and other adults,” Edwards added. “It allows them to realize there are people that care about their success now and in the future.”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *