Type to search

Senior PCA: Golfers find way to outshine bad weather for titles

Senior PCA: Golfers find way to outshine bad weather for titles


By Susan Jenior

Staff Writer


It may have seemed like the winner was the weather as the 53rd Portage County Senior Amateur teed off at Raccoon Hill in Kent.

Senior division champs: from the left, Rob Button of Westlake, Dove Fall of Windham and Chris Minear of Akron

Both Raccoon Hill and Windmill Lakes (scheduled as the host course for the second round), did not have power restored following the tornadoes and strong winds that plagued Northeast Ohio on Thursday night.

The second round was canceled due to the power outage at Windmill Lakes.

Shortened to 18 holes for only the third time in the 93-year history of the Amateur tournaments, Raccoon Hill cleaned up its fairways from fallen trees and debris in one day to welcome the event. The champions put forth outstanding rounds in tough conditions for the one-day tournament.

Two under-par rounds were fired by the champions of the Platinum and Gold Divisions.

Dave Peck, of Macedonia, and Steve Bedell, of Brecksville, each carded rounds of 69, 2-under-par, to earn the championship trophy in the Gold Division (ages 60-69) and Platinum Division (ages 70-Plus), respectively.

Platinum champions: John Sloe of Aurora (runner-up) and Steve Bedell of , champion

For Bedell, he successfully defended his title as the champion in 2022.

Peck, a previous winner, fired a solid round to land at the top of the leaderboard by two strokes over runner-up Jeff Luken of Middleburg Heights.

Dove Fall, of Windham, always in the top five at the tournament, grabbed the champion title by one stroke (76) over Chris Minear of Akron (77).

Rounding out the top three in the Senior Division was Rob Button of Westlake (79).

In the Gold Division (age 60-69) it was a crowded leaderboard for third place. The Amateurs playoff the champion, but use the USGA recommended scorecard playoff to determine the position of the spots down the roster.

Robert Gintert, of Newton Falls, earned the third-place trophy over several 75s.

Gold Division champs: Robert Gintert of Newton Falls, Dave Peck of Macedonia and Jeff Luken of Middleburg Hts.

It was hard-fought for Gintert who had spent his entire Friday cleaning up Riverview Golf Course in Newton Falls as the superintendent, climbing off the tractor at least 100 times in his estimation.

Ray McNiece, of Chagrin Falls, Jim Herchek, of Chagrin Falls, and Randy Wilburn, of Deerfield, each fired 75, falling just short of third place after the scorecard playoff.

Two gentlemen from Aurora, both always near the top of the leaderboard or former champions, finished second and third.

John Sloe (runner-up) fired a 76 and Matt Habbyshaw edged into third place with a 77.

This was the final tournament in the Portage County Amateur series. The 54th Senior Portage County Amateur will compete in 2024 at Windmill Lakes Golf Club in Ravenna and Raccoon Hill in Kent, the final weekend in August, the 24th and 25th.


JOHN SLOE (Aurora)






SENIOR DIVISION (Ages 50-59): Dove Fall, Windham 76

GOLD DIVISION (Ages 60-69); Dave Peck, Macedonia 69

PLATINUM DIVISION (Ages 70-79) Steve Bedell, 69



Dove Fall, Windham 76

Chris Minear, Akron 77

Rob Button, Westlake 79

John Wieland, Streetsboro 80

Tim Feltmeyer, Waterford, PA 83

Thomas Widman, Columbus 83

Christopher Kanuch, Willoughby Hills 84

DAVE PECK (Macedonia)

Ed Marsinek, Shalersville 84

David Bizjack, Aurora 86

Eric Rush, Northfield 91

Eric Ernsberger, Diamond 96


GOLD DIVISION (Ages 60-69)

Dave Peck, Macedonia 69

Jeff Luken, Middleburg Hts. 71

Robert Gintert, Newton Falls 75* (scorecard playoff)

Ray McNiece, Youngstown 75

Randy Wilburn, Deerfield 75

Jim Herchek, Chagrin Falls 75

David Stover, Pepper Pike 76

Randy Steele, Hudson 76

Mark Ciccarello, South Euclid 76

STEVE BEDELL (Brecksville)

John Sales, Canton 77

Gary Congin, Chesterland 78

Troy Luckenbaugh, Uniontown 79

George Allen, Warren 79

Lou Boarman, Mogadore 80

Kirk Seablom, 80

Ron Rositani, Willowick 81

John King, Aurora 90



Steve Bedell, Brecksville 69

John Sloe, Aurora 76

Matt Habbyshaw, Aurora 77

Ronald Skirpstas, Medina 79

Bradley Champagne, Streetsboro 94

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *